Zucchini Hash

Zucchini HashBreakfast is my favourite meal and I truly enjoy it anytime of the day or night! I don’t see any reason why one can’t eat a full English fry up for dinner. I think we Indians are fairly flexible in this regard. We don’t really think twice about eating stuffed parathas or luchi-torkari (fried breads and vegetables), both typically breakfast food, anytime during the day or night.

 After a long day at work, rubbish weather and battling crazy hunger, I could truly only summon enough will to make something breakfast-y (I had a pretty long discussion in my head about getting take out too). I had precisely two zucchini in my fairly empty refrigerator, some eggs and some celery growing in a pot on the balcony, which resulted in this amazing eggy yummy zucchini hash! I am not ashamed to admit that I ate it all in one go.

 You will need:

  • Zucchini: 2
  • Eggs: 2
  • Celery: 3-4 sticks
  • Garlic: 2 cloves
  • Olive oil: 1 tablespoon
  • Salt: ½ teaspoon
  • Pepper: to taste
  • Chili flakes: to taste (optional)

Grate the zucchini and mix well with the salt in a bowl and keep aside for 5 minutes.

Squeeze the zucchini of any excess water.

Roughly chop the celery and garlic. Add the celery, garlic, one egg and pepper to the zucchini and mix well.

In a skillet heat one tablespoon of oil and add the zucchini-egg mixture and cook for about 5-8 minutes or until the edges start to brown.

Crack the other egg over the hash and cook for another minute.

Sprinkle chili flakes on top (if using) and dig in.

Zucchini Hash

5 thoughts on “Zucchini Hash

Leave a Reply

