Cheese and Rosemary Cookies

Cheese and rosemary cookiesI prefer cheese to chocolate. There, I said it. I have yet to find a type of cheese I dislike, although I’m certain I do not have the stomach for casu marzu or such similar maggot infested cheese.

When I went to Calcutta (Kolkata) in December, I went to my favourite bakery, which used to have the best cheese cookies. I grabbed the last couple of packs, wrestling the rest of the populace who were out Christmas shopping, delighted to have scored! I was sorely disappointed (or maybe I had just imagined that these were better than what they really were!) when I dug in; they were not what they used to be.

Anyway, when I came back to Delhi all I wanted was to try these out for myself, somehow convinced that I could do a better job. I’m not sure I can convert cheese haters with these cookies, but I’m pretty certain cheese lovers like me will totally enjoy these as much as I did!

You will need:

  • Parmesan cheese (grated): 1 cup
  • Flour: 2 cups
  • Baking Powder: 2 teaspoons
  • Milk: ¾ cup
  • Butter (softened): ½ cup
  • Egg: 1
  • Dried or fresh rosemary (chopped): 2 tablespoons
  • Chili flakes: 1 teaspoon (or lesser, adjust to taste)
  • Salt: ¾ teaspoon

Preheat the oven to 200 degree Celsius.

In a bowl whisk the butter, milk and egg until well combined.

Sift the flour, baking powder and the salt together, and mix (a little at a time) with the wet ingredients to form a smooth batter.

Add the cheese, rosemary and chilli flakes and stir in.

Line two baking trays with parchment paper and using a tablespoon, drop spoonfuls of the batter onto the parchment lined trays, and leave at least 2 inches of space between each cookie.

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until slightly browned.

 Eat them straight out of the oven!!!

Cheese and rosemary cookiesCheese and rosemary cookies

5 thoughts on “Cheese and Rosemary Cookies

Leave a Reply

