(Boozy) Orange Cheesecake

Image

Saturday was an amazing day! Four girls (together after 5 years), one boy, a lazy winter afternoon, tons of gossip and lots of food. Only problem, I totally overslept and started cooking (like a maniac) only at 10.30 in the morning (my friends were due to arrive at 1.30 in the afternoon(yikes!)) while the boy cleaned the house and made it pretty. I daresay I was pretty damn impressed with myself and managed to put together a decent lunch (baked rigatoni with bacon and gouda, grilled chicken and cheesecake!).

I have never ever made cheesecake in such a rush. All the recipes I read called for long baking and chilling time and I just did not have that much time! I just decided to go with the flow and the results were pretty amazing!!

Try this easy peasy cheesecake, I’m pretty sure you’ll love it as much as we all did (only one tiny sliver was left by the end of the afternoon!). The photos are fairly miserable, I didn’t have time to really get great shots (the greedy girls were breathing down my neck).

You will need:

  • Chocolate oreos (or any other chocolate sandwich cookies, I used Dark Fantasy, which is locally available): 200 gms.
  • Cream cheese: 400 gms.
  • Cream (I used 20% fat cream): 200 ml.
  • Icing sugar: 1 cup
  • Baking powder: 1 teaspoon
  • Zest of one orange
  • Orange essence: 4-5 drops
  • Oranges: 2 (segmented)
  • Juice of one orange
  • Sugar: 3 tablespoons
  • Cornflour: 1/2 teaspoon
  • Water: 1 tablespoon
  •  Cointreau: 3 tablespoons (optional)

Preheat the oven to 175 degree Celsius.

Crush the chocolate cookies until they are like breadcrumbs.

Grease or line a springform baking pan with butter paper, and press down the cookie crumbs uniformly (use the back of a flat bottomed bowl, if you wish).

In a food processor (or use a mixing bowl), whisk the cream cheese, cream, icing sugar, baking powder, orange zest and orange essence until smooth.

Pour the mixture into the tin and bake for 45 minutes to one hour (until firm and the top is brown).

(At this stage, do not panic, the cheesecake will bubble and rise and fall, but it will eventually brown on top and firm up.)

Remove from the oven, cool and chill in the fridge.

In a heavy bottomed pan on low heat, at the segmented oranges, orange juice, sugar and the cornflour (dissolved in the water) and boil for about 4-5 minutes until the syrup thickens and coats the back of a spoon.

Adjust the sugar depending on the tartness of the oranges.

Once cooled, add the Cointreau.

Pour over the chilled cheesecake and refrigerate for a minimum 30 minutes.

ImageImage

5 thoughts on “(Boozy) Orange Cheesecake

  1. Yummm.. Will you please also give us an idea how much time the preparation and the cooking takes? So i can decide which one I can take up based on the tgime I have at hand… Keep it going!!

      1. Oh yes… I gave up baking when I became allergic to eggs, but this is something I could actually have. It is certainly tempting. I’m glad you captured it in photos — hopefully no one eats the pictures! LOL

Leave a Reply

